Week Seven – Rights

After starting my music video I decided I wanted to use the same video I used in my pre production video, this was-  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XmjRMtN2zoA

This meant that I needed to get permission from the creator, however as I haven’t ever approached this before I decided to read up on copyright, I started with Youtube Rights, Youtube (2018) explains as part of there copyright scheme that you may use other peoples work if you get their permission, some people explain who the rights belong to in the description of there videos, however this is not seen as a fair use of others works as the creator has not given any permission.

Youtube (2018) Later explain that if the purpose of your work is for a educational and a non profit use it is a less serious matter, however permission is still advised.

I then decided to do some research into the creators of the video I wanted and found their business email.

Screen Shot 2018-06-04 at 18.45.03Screen Shot 2018-06-04 at 18.51.48

With this permission I could carry on with my music video with the clips that I wanted.

Bibliography

Youtube (2018) What is fair use?, Available at: https://www.youtube.com/intl/en-GB/yt/about/copyright/fair-use/#yt-copyright-myths (Accessed: 4th June 2018).

Warped Perception. (2016). Crushing Crystal Balls with Hydraulic Press – in 4K Slow Motion (S1 E6). [Online Video]. 29 May 2016. Available from: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XmjRMtN2zoA. [Accessed: 4 June 2018].

 

 

Leave a comment